FA Cup first round draw: AFC Sudbury drawn against Colchester and Wrexham could play Harrogate

Eight-tier Marine or National League Wrexham will face a trip to Harrogate Town in the FA Cup first round, while AFC Sudbury have landed a plum tie against Colchester United.

Wrexham, owned by the Hollywood actors Ryan Reynolds and Rob McElhenney, could only draw 1-1 at Northern Premier League Division One West side Marine in the fourth qualifying round on Saturday.

Whoever wins Tuesday’s replay at the Racecourse Ground will head to League Two high-fliers Harrogate in the next round.


The draw for the first round proper of the FA Cup was made on Sunday afternoon

Wrexham, owned by Hollywood stars Ryan Reynolds and Rob McElhenney must overcome eighth-tier Marine in a replay to set up a trip to Harrogate Town

Sudbury, of the eighth-level Isthmian League North, are the lowest-ranked team remaining in the Cup after dumping out Dartford and were rewarded with a home match against League Two Colchester.

The U’s were eliminated by Marine at the first round stage last season and will be eager to avoid another upset.

Elsewhere in Sunday’s draw, seventh-tier Bowers and Pitsea will travel to League One club Lincoln City, while Harrow Borough head to the 2008 Cup winners Portsmouth.

2013 winners Wigan Athletic will entertain Solihull Moors of the National League, while seventh-tier Horsham make the long trip to Carlisle United.

Banbury have also been matched with League Two opposition in a home tie against Barrow.

Grimsby beat Bromsgrove Sporting in the fourth qualifying round and have Kidderminster next

Two other eighth-level sides went to replays – Pontefract Collieries will host Maidenhead United if they can get past FC Halifax Town and Marske United will host Altrincham if they overcome Gateshead at the second time of asking.

The winner of the replay between Dorking Wanderers and Hayes & Yeading will host League Two Sutton United.

Forest Green Rovers will head to the winner of the rematch between Corinthian Casuals and St Albans.

League One Shrewsbury Town will travel to the winner of Tuesday night’s replays between Stratford Town and Boston United.

All first round ties will be played between November 5 and 8.

First round draw in full 

Bradford City v Exeter City

Sunderland v Mansfield Town

Dorking Wanderers or Hayes & Yeading v Sutton United

Sheffield Wednesday v Plymouth Argyle

Dagenham & Redbridge v Salford City

Carlisle United v Horsham

Dover Athletic or Yate Town v Yeovil Town or Weymouth

Scunthorpe United v Doncaster Rovers

Rotherham United v Bromley

Portsmouth v Harrow Borough

Gillingham v Cheltenham Town

Morecambe v Newport County

Banbury United v Barrow

Fleetwood Town v Burton Albion

AFC Sudbury v Colchester United

Northampton Town v Cambridge United

Corinthian Casuals or St Albans v Forest Green Rovers

Boston United or Stratford Town v Shrewsbury Town

Pontefract Collieries or Halifax Town v Maidenhead United

Chesterfield v Southend United

Rochdale v Tamworth or Notts County

Kidderminster Harriers v Grimsby Town

Wigan Athletic v Solihull Moors

Boreham Wood v Eastleigh or Folkestone Invicta

York City or Morpeth Town v Kettering Town or Buxton

Ipswich Town v Oldham Athletic

AFC Wimbledon v Brackley Town or Guiseley

Harrogate Town v Marine or Wrexham

Hartlepool United v Wycombe Wanderers

King’s Lynn Town v Walsall

Crewe Alexandra v Swindon Town

Bolton Wanderers v Stockport County

Charlton Athletic v Torquay or Havant & Waterlooville

Oxford United v Bristol Rovers

Crawley Town v Tranmere Rovers

Leyton Orient v Ebbsfleet United

MK Dons v Stevenage

Lincoln City v Bowers and Pitsea

Port Vale v Accrington Stanley

Marske United or Gateshead v Altrincham

Ties will be played November 5-8